United Conservatives win Alberta byelections

Fort McMurray — Laila Goodridge of the United Conservative Party has been elected MLA of Fort McMurray-Conklin.

With 38 out of 43 polls reporting, Goodridge was elected with 69.56 per cent of the vote.

Despite an aggressive campaign that saw visits from Premier Rachel Notley and large social media support, NDP candidate and municipal councillor Jane Stroud followed with 26.06 per cent.

Sid Fayad of the Alberta Party followed with 2.64 per cent of the vote. Brian Deheer of the Green party and Robin Le Fevre of the Alberta Liberals each had less than one per cent.

Goodridge, 31, replaces former MLA and Wildrose Leader Brian Jean, who had resigned in March. A veteran political campaigner and staple of Fort McMurray’s conservative political scene, Goodridge beat three other candidates for the UCP’s nomination spot.

Meanwhile, in Innisfail-Sylvan Lake, UCP candidate Devin Dreeshen ran away with the vote, capturing 81.5 per cent with 70 of 86 polls reporting. NDP candidate Nicole Mooney had 8.83 per cent of the vote, followed closely by Alberta Party candidate Abigail Douglass with 7.69 per cent of the vote.

Liberal candidate Nick Jansen and Independent candidate David Inscho each received less than one per cent of the vote.

The race in Innisfail-Sylvan Lake came about after legislature member Don MacIntyre stepped down in early February when he was charged with sex assault and sexual interference.

The results will not change the balance of power in the legislature since Premier Rachel Notley’s NDP holds 54 of the 87 seats.

The winning candidate will have to run again in less than a year when the spring 2019 general election is called.

Dreeshen, an area farmer and businessman, has campaigned on getting rid of Alberta’s carbon tax and NDP policies he says are hurting the economy. The riding has been a conservative stronghold for more than two decades.

Goodridge, who …read more

Source:: Edmonton Journal

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *