Aberdeen curry contest cooks up new challenge to find winning chef

A North-east curry competition has added some spice to this year’s proceedings – holding a cook-off to determine Chef of the Year.

Aberdeen’s Best Curry Awards held the celebrity chef-style challenge at the city’s Coast Cafe.

Six talented chefs from across the region pitted their skills against one another in a showdown on Monday night to decide the victor.

In the judging of the dishes, 19 industry experts were looking for exceptional taste, quality of produce and presentation.

The chairman of the awards Syed Abdul Hamid – known as Raj – who won last year’s competition, said: “I’ve never seen people take a competition this seriously before.

“The whole night was great, it couldn’t be better.”

From left, Kawsar Miah of Currymount, Diash Khan of Shree Bheema Bridge of Don, Salek Miah of Eastern Eye, Mohammed Ali of Shish Tandoori, Chiranjib Sahu of Shree Bheema Belmont Street and Faruk Ahmed of Nazma takeaway Inverurie

This was the first time the awards had used this format, as previously the judges would visit each finalist.

The chefs will find out their fate during a ceremony later this month, but Raj remained tight-lipped about his favourites.

Hopefuls began cooking at 4pm, preparing all their dishes from scratch.

Each chef then had two hours to cook their dishes.

Throughout the process, the chefs were being judged not only on their dishes, but how they worked alongside their competitors.

Raj said: “I think they worked together brilliantly, in a very professional manner.

“It was a new experience for me to see.”

Each of the judges paid £20 to be part of the night, with all of the proceeds going to Aberdeen Inspired. The winner will be announced at a bash on March 27 at the Hilton Treetops in the city.

The night is expected to be a sell-out with tickets going fast.

A range of other categories are also up for …read more

Source:: Evening Express – All articles

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *